RSTMH Annual Meeting 2021 – drug resistant infections: causes, consequences and considerations

11–12 October 2021
Virtual event

This event has now passed

Our 2021 Annual Meeting will bring together RSTMH members and supporters from around the world to share knowledge from the forefront of the fight against drug resistant infections and encourage new connections and collaborations.

This meeting will cover a wide range of topics within the drug resistant infection (DRIs) space, including:

  • analysis of the drivers of AMR
  • antimicrobial resistance surveillance
  • antimicrobial stewardship implementation
  • antimicrobial usage monitoring in agricultural settings
  • considerations for successful AMR policy implementation
  • sessions will take the form of keynotes presentations, seminars from experts in the field, turbo talks, and panel discussions with an emphasis on audience interaction.


Speakers confirmed so far include:

  • Céire Costelloe, Reader in Digital Health and Statistics & NIHR Career Development Fellow, Director of Global Digital Health Unit, Imperial College London
  • Sally Davies, UK Envoy on Antimicrobial Resistance
  • Jyoti Joshi, Head of South Asia, Center for Disease Dynamics, Economics & Policy (CDDEP)
  • Claas Kirchhelle, Lecturer History of Medicine, University College Dublin
  • Rebecca Lester, Wellcome Trust Clinical PhD Fellow, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine
  • Mashkoor Mohsin Gilani, University of Agriculture, Faisalabad, Pakistan
  • Mirfin Mpundu, Director, ReAct Africa 
  • Jim O'Neill, Chairman, Review of Antimicrobial Resistance
  • Marcelo Pilonetto, State Laboratory for Public Health, Department of Health Assistance and Surveillance, Secretary of Health, Curitiba, Brazil
  • Adam Roberts, RSTMH Policy Adviser on drug resistant infections and Scientific Chair, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine
  • Katy Turner, Managing Consultant, Aquarius Population Health
  • George Varghese, Professor and Head of the Department of Infectious Diseases, Christian Medical College Vellore
  • Ghada Zoubiane, Head of Partnerships and Stakeholder Engagement, International Centre for Antimicrobial Resistance Solutions (ICARS)

More speakers will be announced shortly here and through our newsletter.

Register now


Registration gives you access to the event platform with access to the talks, presentations and resources for three months.

To save money on your ticket today, as well as on future RSTMH events, why not become a member and take advantage of a whole host of membership benefits?

Register now

Scientific Committee

Dr Adam Roberts (pictured above) is the Scientific Chair of the Annual Meeting, a Reader in Antimicrobial Chemotherapy and Resistance and AMR lead at the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine. His research group is currently funded by the Medical Research Council (MRC), National Institute of Health Research (NIHR), UK Research and Innovation (UKRI), the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and various charities including the Wellcome Trust and Antibiotic Research UK.

The Scientific Committee is focused on investigating drug resistance in bacteria; particularly of low- and middle-income country origin, and the discovery and development of new drugs to treat bacterial and fungal disease.

The Committee is pictured below, left to right:

  • Professor Clare Chandler, Professor in Medical Anthropology & Director of the Antimicrobial Resistance Centre, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine 
  • Professor Guo-Bao Tian, Professor, Principal Investigator, Key Laboratory of Tropical Diseases, Sun Yat-sen University 
  • Dr Jyoti Joshi, Head of South Asia, Center for Disease Dynamics, Economics & Policy (CDDEP)
  • Professor Sabiha Essack, South African Research Chair (SARChI) in Antibiotic Resistance and One Health & Professor in Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN)
  • Dr Mirfin Mpundu, Director, ReAct Africa